About Gulbarga

Gulbarga division is one of the four divisions of karnataka state of India. The division comprises the districts of Bellary, Bidar, Gulbarga, Koppal, and Raichur. The city of Gulbarga serves as the administrative headquarters of the division. GULBARGA was known as 'KALBURGI' in former days which means stony land inKannada.Gulbarga district is situated in the northern part of Karnataka State. In the earlier days, Gulbarga was a district of Hyderabad Karnataka area and became a part of Karnataka State after re-organization of states. This town was the Bahmani capital form 1347 until its transfer to bidar in 1428 Later the kingdom broke up into a number of smaler kingdoms - Bijapur, Bidar, berar, Ahmednager and Golconda. Gulbarga is 663 km from Bangalore city and 214 km from Hyderabad city.

General Profile

Number of Taluk Panchayat                                        10

Number of Gram Panchayat                                       337

Number of Villages                                                 1437

Two main river , Krishna and Bhima , flow in the district . The predominant type of soil in the district is black soil . The district has a large number of tanks which in addition to the river irrigate the land . The Upper Krishna Project is major irrigational venture in the district . Jowar, groundnut , rice , and pulses are the main crops.Gulbarga an industrially backward district is presently showing signs of growth in the Cement , textile , leather and chemical industries sectors. Gulbarga has a University with Medical and Engineering Colleges . The climate of the district is generally dry and healthy with temperature ranging from 200c in the winter to 400c in the summer, and an annual rainfall of about 750 mm.


Gulbarga's old moated fort is in a much deteriorated state, but it has a number of interesting buildings inside including the Jama Masjid, reputed to have been built by a Moorish architect during the late 14th or early 15th century who imitated the great mosque in Cordoba, Spain. The mosque is unique in India, with a huge dome covering the whole area, four smaller ones at the corners, and 75 smaller still all the way around. The fort itself has 15 towers. Gulbarga also has a number of imposing tombs of Bahmani kings, a shrine to an important Muslim saint, Sharana Basaveshwara Temple, Sri Sai baba temple, Sri Ram Mandir and Sri Bhavani shankar temple(Sri Sadashiv maharaj). Sri Kshetra Ghangapur is a famous pilgrimage center of God Sri Sadguru Dattarya, situated very close to Gulbarga. Thousands of pilgrims visit Gulbarga during the annual festival held at the holy shrine of Khwaja Bande Nawaz Darga to commemorate his death anniversary.

Art And Culture

Gulbarga basically developed as an educational hub right from the Nizams time and continues till date.a privately held trust, set up a series of educational institutions beginning with an Engineering college, which continue to be rated quite well. Gulbarga has a university ,that is Gulbarga University established in 1980. Its jurisdiction extends to the five districts of Gulbarga, Bidar, Raichur, Bellary and Koppal. Earlier it was a post-graduate centre of Karnatak University, Dharwad since 1970. The main campus is situated on a 860 acres (3.5 km2) of land, 6 kilo meters east of Gulbarga city.

Gulbarga in Karnataka Ind

Afzalpur, Aland, Chincholli, Chittapur, Gulbarga, Jewargi, Sedam, Shahapur, Shorapur, Yadgir
3,130,922 (2001)
193 /km2
Time zone
IST (UTC+5:30)
16174 km2
Pincode : 570011 Telephone +91 (0) 8472 Vehicle KA-32